Thread: T1i HELP!

T1i HELP!

Hi, so I'm new to the hobby. I understand that the T1i series will only work with the ef-s model type lenses because of the "sensor" distance between the lens and body. (which I by the way have no idea what that means) I want to know everything I can about my camera (settings, accessories etc) I'm willing to learn!

Now to the point. I wanted to know what type of non-Canon lenses are compatible with T1i. Thanks so much. =)

Re: T1i HELP!

Welcome to the TDP Forums!

Quote Originally Posted by bhong07
    I understand that the T1i series will only work with the ef-s model type lenses

You understand incorrectly (inversely, in a way). The T1i will work with all EF lenses - that includes both the EF-S lenses the EF lenses (EF lenses also work on full frame digital and film cameras, but EF-S lenses do not).

I wanted to know what type of non-Canon lenses are compatible with T1i.

Just about any lens from Sigma, Tamron, or Tokina that has a Canon mount will work with your T1i

I want to know everything I can about my camera (settings, accessories etc) I'm willing to learn!

You're in the right place if you have specific questions! For more general information, consider picking up a guide book, such as a Magic Lantern guide or David Busch's book.

No. The EF-S lenses only work with the the small sensor like the T1i has, APS-C I think. Your camera is compatible with both the EF and the EF-S lenses. The lenses with the the 'L' designation are the highest quality. For third party lenses there are some good ones. Look at Bryan's reviews. One that I have is the Tamron SP AF 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD IF . Very good image quality for a good proce.

For your camera I suggest you start with Bryan's review. You will find you made an excellant choice in buying the T1i.

Mark
    Mark

awesome. thanks a whole lot.. im definitely glad i decided to post. again, thanks! i'll def take a look at the guides and hopefully be able to find some more information.