Thread: Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 L IS USM Lens Review

Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 L IS USM Lens Review

Discuss the Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 L IS USM Lens Review - Tell us what you think about the Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 L IS USM Lens.

Re: Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 L IS USM Lens Review

..Now this seems to be a seriously sweet lens! Whatever has happened at Canons zoom lens design department? Both 70-200/2.8 IS II and this lens are quantum leaps in image quality.

Now I can

I rented this lens for the long weekend and was hoping I could spend a good couple days trying it out. However I only actually only got in a few hours.
    I'm new to photography - so maybe take into consideration my inexperience- but I found this lens a bit awkward.

I currently have a Canon t2i with kit lens 18-55, a 55-250 and more recently purchased a 24-105mm f/4L IS, all 3 function in a similar manner in terms of focusing and zooming, and with the zoom ring closer to the body. When compared to my existing lenses, the focusing ring and zoom are reversed in position. I found myself continuously refocusing or zooming when I intended the other. As I still consider it lucky when I get a good shot, it was rather frustrating to loose a shot when my learned behavior from the other lenses kicked in.

With more time I suppose I could get used to it, however for me I was able to adapt to the push pull zoom on the 100-400 (rented previous weekend) much faster.

What I did like with the 70-300 was the relative small size.
    I could fit it in my small camera bag (LowePro slingshot 100AW) with my 24-105 on the camera.

When I rented the 100-400, I had to carry it in a separate case. Minor, as I know I will be needing a larger bag soon, but that is something to consider.

As for technical aspects of this lens I am not qualified to critique. So I will describe the lens in terms I would to another beginner photographer.
    Testing conditions: