Thread: Please, please, please help me decide between these lenses !!!!!!

Please, please, please help me decide between these lenses !!!!!!

Hi all,

Please help! Basically I am a complete ignoramous when it comes to photography. My boyfriend on the other hand, loves it, and owns a canon 400d SLR. It is his birthday next week and I am in complete turmoil as to which lens I should buy him (or even if a flash would be more useful?) I have somewhat narrowed down my search (due to monetry reasons- can't afford more than 200 quid as I'm a student) and was wondering if any one can help.Are any of these any good (see below) ? And if so which would be better for a budding photographer ??? I know u r supposed to be specific about which type of photography it will be, but he sort of does a bit of everything, the only lens he has i think is one which focuses on one bit and makes the rest blurry (again sorry for appaling ignorance) Any ideas would be greatly appreciated, thank you so much for your time, ava xxx
    <h1>Canon EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-f5.6</h1>
    <h1>Canon EF 28mm f/2.8</h1>
    <h1>Sigma 70-300mm F:4-5.6 APO DG Macro Canon Fit</h1>

Re: Please, please, please help me decide between these lenses !!!!!!

Hello Ava:

If he is already using a 400, he may already have the 18-55 lens which would have been part of the kit if he purchased it that way. So you don't want to double up what he's got already.

The 28mm lens is a single focal length lens, i.e. doesn't zoom and it may not be very versatile to use.

The Sigma telephoto zoom would probably be more useful if he doesn't have anything like that already.

I would also recommend the Sigma lens. I used to own it and was very happy with it. It is a nice, multi-purpose lens and doesn't cost much money!

You first need to know (and mention here) what he already has (it should be marked on his lens)

Then you need to tell us what he photographs.