Thread: 24-105 Refurb or get a new one?

24-105 Refurb or get a new one?

The rear element is clearly non centered, the front element has some very small spots (I bought on ebay and got "stuck")

The wide side seems to be decent but at 105 the image in the center is clearly soft.

Any experience on what a tear down/refurb from canon is likely to cost?

Thanks
    If you see me with a wrench, call 911

Have you called Canon to ask what their typical charge would be?

800-OK-CANON (800-652-2666)

Hey Mike. I am having issues with a lens I bought on ebay right now as well. If it isn't as advertised, contact their resolution center. This is my first time having to use the resolution center. It is actually my first time trying to return something I bought on ebay. But it is a potential recourse if the lens isn't as advertised.

I'm a firm believer that the 24-105 is valued at $600, since that's the typical price premium on kits that include it. You should be able to get them new-in-box for $599 from many folks who bought the kit and want to unload their lens unused. I'd suspect Canon's fee for clean/check/simple repair to be around $225 (we paid $216 for a simple repair on our 16-35/2.8II about three years ago). I'd keep all of that in mind as you make your choices.

Quote Originally Posted by peety3 View Post
    I'm a firm believer that the 24-105 is valued at $600, since that's the typical price premium on kits that include it. You should be able to get them new-in-box for $599 from many folks who bought the kit and want to unload their lens unused. I'd suspect Canon's fee for clean/check/simple repair to be around $225 (we paid $216 for a simple repair on our 16-35/2.8II about three years ago). I'd keep all of that in mind as you make your choices.