Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question for 1D MKIIII Owners

Question for 1D MKIIII Owners

I'm a wedding and sports photographer with a pretty wide variety of gear. I have the XT, XTi and 1D mkII bodies and a good selection of L glass.

I'd like to hear from 1D mkIII owners, especially those that shoot sports. How do you like the body and what is it like in the real world? I've read every thread and review available about the mkIII and I've followed the AF issue from day one inclding reading every inch of Rob Galbraith's extensive testing report. However, I have no close friend or associate using the body and I'd like a real field report.

Re: Question for 1D MKIIII Owners

I have a 1D3 and an XTi. My girlfriend has a 40D. (And we have a G9...) That means we have all three 2007-vintage 10MP bodies. Neither of us shoot professionally. My 1D3 has current firmware, and went to Canon for the mirror box fix. We've done some wedding work as gratis alternate shooters, and we both shoot some sports as well as touristy stuff.

The 1D3 is by far my favorite camera. The "odd" crop makes lens selection a little odd, but you know that already. The autofocus isn't perfect, but these days I suspect a lot of that is operator error, complicated by my unwillingness to sit down with RG's reports, Canon's white papers, the manual, and the camera so I can learn the implications and best combinations of all of the relevant settings. Lately I've settled on center-point (or at least single-point) AI Servo AF, with AF-ON mapped as option 1 (so it's technically an AF-OFF; I'm not ready for the mindset change of AF-ON, and too many others grab my camera on group events and they'd be lost), surrounding points as assist, tracking at highest sensitivity, and (I think) main focus point priority.