Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lense Suggestions

Lense Suggestions

Hi everyone,

I am hoping that someone can provide me with some direction as I keep going around in circles. Here's the situation. I am relatively new to SLR photography and bought a 40D + EFS17-85mm f/4-4.6 kit plus a EF50mm f/1.8. I travel a lot and enjoy the outdoors so majority of my photos are of landscapes, flowers, wildlife and generally anything interesting outdoors.

Now here's the direction I'm hoping to get... should I look at a better quality lense or would I just be wasting my money. Which of these would you suggest, or should I just keep using the EFS17-85 lense I already have? Will there be a noticable improvement in quality? Ideally I would like to travel around with one lense (plus maybe the 50mm).

The three lenses I am looking at are:

EFS 17-55 f/2.8 - I want to upgrade to a full frame in 3-5 years. 17mm makes life a bit wider on the 1.6 body.
    EF 24-70 f/2.8L - No IS leads me away from this
    EF 24-105 f/4.0L - Seems like a good all round but is 24mm on the 1.6 body suitable for what I want?

Any other suggestions are more than welcome.

Re: Lense Suggestions

my gut feeling is that if you're new to this, what you have will serve you well, and as you learn your equipment, you'll learn what you want different, and you might answer your own question.

That said, while I think the 24-70 and 24-105 are both excellent lenses, I would lean toward the 17-55 and keep the 50mm for the near future. I haven't used that lens, but all indications are that on a 1.6 sensor, it will outperform every other zoom lens.

After that, you may want to explore telephoto and macro options....

After you upgrade to full frame, put the 24-70 and 24-105 on the short list to replace the 17-55...