Thread: 7d vs 60d mostly sports

7d vs 60d mostly sports

<span>I am a hobby photographer who shoots mostly sports. My challenge has been gymnastics.(Indoors and no flash allowed.)<o></o>

<span>For the past 4 years I have been able to get okay to goodpictures with a RebelXT because I have decent lenses<o></o>

<span>70-200mm 2.8 and 85mm 1.8

<span>I have now decided to upgrade most likely to the 7d because of the promoted low light abilities. I would like to be able to shoot at higher ISO so that I could increase the shutter speed to be able to capture flipping. Anything above 400 ISO on the XT has been mostly unacceptable.<o></o>

<span>Questions:<o></o>

<span>Will the 7D be significantly better for this purpose then the 60D?<o></o>

<span>Can someone explain the AF feature for moving objectsof the 7D, I know there is an aperture limit. Will it work with my 70-200 lens set to 2.8?<o></o>

<span>Third question, just for the fun of it. Now that I may spend close to $2,000, I considered the 5dm2, which I see at a refurbished price of $2,000. From looking at the tests on this site I see that its high ISO noise level is much better than the 7D or 60D. But I don't really think it is a sports camera. Thoughts?<o></o>

<span style="font-family: 'Arial','sans-serif'; color: black; font-size: 9pt;"]<span style="font-family: 'Arial','sans-serif';"]Any help would be great. I have spent way too much time reading about this decision and I want to go ahead and get a new camera and start taking pictures.<o></o>

Re: 7d vs 60d mostly sports

Hi, and welcome to the TDP forums!

Quote Originally Posted by ffron
    Will the 7D be significantly better for this purpose then the 60D?

Yes.

Can someone explain the AF feature for moving objectsof the 7D, I know there is an aperture limit. Will it work with my 70-200 lens set to 2.8?