Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HELP! Bought 2 Canon Lenses instead of one Tamron that has great reviews...did I make a mistake??

HELP! Bought 2 Canon Lenses instead of one Tamron that has great reviews...did I make a mistake??

Happy New Year All!!

I just bought myself the Canon EF 300/4L IS and the EF 100/2.8 Macro L ISlens along with the 1.4x II extender. Now I was just reading some great reveiws on the Tamron AF 18-270mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical Macro and am having major second thoughts!

Should I have gotten the Tamron insteadand saved $$$ andhave a great all-in-one lens or should I keep what I have and put the Tamron on my goal list?

I'm new to this and wondering if I've made my first mistake []

Denise

Re: HELP! Bought 2 Canon Lenses instead of one Tamron that has great reviews...did I make a mistake??

Quote Originally Posted by ddt0725

I'm new to this and wondering if I've made my first mistake [img]/emoticons/emotion-6.gif[/img]

Absolutely not! Image quality is not even comparable! I have a Minolta 300mm f/4.5 and love it, although it's not quite as good as the Canon it's still such a fun and usefull lens.

Here a link to Bryan's ISO 112233 crops, the difference ishuge.

http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Reviews/ISO-12233-Sample-Crops.aspx?CameraComp=0&FLIComp=0&APIComp= 0&Lens=492&Camera=474&Sample=0&FLI =7&API=1&LensComp=111

John.

Re: HELP! Bought 2 Canon Lenses instead of one Tamron that has great reviews...did I make a mistake??

I agree with 'Fast Glass'.

It's like comparing apples and walnuts. Those Canon's are considered gold and possibly the most sought after lenses.

Canon 450D Gripped, Canon 24-105 f/4L, Canon 70-200 f/2.8L IS USM II, Sigma 10-20 EX f/4-5.6, Canon S95

“There are always two people in every picture: the photographer and the viewer.” -Ansel Adams

Canon lenses are always superior. period. duh. finito. no questions asked. you made the right choice. yay!