Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pictures not taken

Pictures not taken

Hello everybody!

I'm a visual artist based in Brussels and I am looking for photographers who would like to collaborate on my new artproject.

I collect descriptions of shots that photographers would have like to photograph, but were unable to for various reasons (technical, ethical, etc.)..
    My purpose is to try to make drawings from these texts as close as possible as the described pictures.
    I am therefore looking for photographers who would be willing to send me a detailed description of
    one or more picture they never took : framing, composition, colors, lights, depth of field etc..
    I really wish to create an exchange with the photographers so the drawing result would seem satisfying to him
    I'm really impatient to start this project

If you are interested, you can contact me by pm or untakenpicture@gmail.com
    Thanks in advance and hope to hear from you soon,

Léa

Wow, this is something I've been thinking of for the last few years, those "damn, I don't have a camera" moments (and I've had a stack of them).
    I was even thinking it would make a great exhibition (except for the whole bit about not having the photos, and I can't draw or paint for shit either).

So anyway, here's one for you (maybe it's even one you could take a photo of, seeing as you're in Belgium).
    I lived for a few years in The Netherlands, the last winter of which was in Den Haag. Every morning I would walk to the tram stop and take the tram to work. And every morning, there would be people doing the same, and being The Netherlands most of them were on bikes.
    I saw this lady many times, riding a Baboe Bakfiets (or some similar brand), with her two kids (boy and a girl, maybe 2-4 years old), crossing the road at the same lights as me, probably going off to kindergarten or somewhere.