Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Please help- 50D vs T1i

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Please help- 50D vs T1i

Hey guys! First off, thanks for the great forums. Good discussions and helpful advice from the topics I've read through so far.

So,I'm tight on money but I need an upgrade from my XT. I'm a serious amateur and I'm between the 50D and T1i. I know, hard to compare the Rebel series to the XXD series, but thats where I'm at right now. I'm set on lenses, so either option would be body only.

The video on the T1i would be cool, but I wouldn't use it often and isn't that big of a deal for me. I've used them both at my local camera store and obviously the feel of the 50D is much better, but I just don't know if I can justify the extra cash for that...

I have read numerous reviews and have heard good and bad about both of them. Also, what about a 40D? I've heard a lot that the 40D can be just as good as the 50D. Perhaps thats a better option- especially since the price iscomparableto the T1i.

I'd love to hear what you guys think of these and any other possiblerecommendations.

So is it 50D, T1i, or 40D. Or maybe even something else?

Thanks in advance,

Andrew

Re: Please help- 50D vs T1i

Welcome to the forums! I'd go with the 50D. If you decide you don't want to spend the cash, get a 40D. I would put the T1i last, even though its screen is (much) better than the one on the 40D. The 40D/50D ergonimics are much better. BTW, I like the tag "Too many choices". LOL!

Thanks Johan! Appreciate the input and I'll take it into consideration. Idefinitely agree theergonomicsare much better on the 40D and 50D. Yes, the new screen would be nice, but even the 40D screen is a huge step up from the XT!

And haha thanks!

@ Andrew