Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Best walkaround lens

Best walkaround lens

Hi, I am a beginner photographer that has caught the bug big time. I travel quite a bit internationally and I am looking for the best walkaround lens I can find.Although price is not a factor, I would like to fit the lens with my beginner status.

I have a Canon 400D, can anybody point me in the right direction (the reason I ask here is that I have seen the reviews on this site and I find them very informative and knowledgable)

Re: Best walkaround lens

standard opening questions...

what are you going to do with it?

Are you set on one lens versus multiple lenses?

What are your size constraints?

I like taking pics of places we visit , like the inside of the Notre Dame Basillica (Paris)as well as the Parque de Ritiro (Madrid) so the use is quite varied. Also, we are going to South Africa to a game reserve so wild life pics as well

I would like to find one lens that would do all this but if there is not one. I would use two at a push. It is the changing lenses that frustrates me.

Not sure about size constrants I carry a standard Canon bag so the lens the size of a canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM is good.

The EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM will cover your wildlife needs in South Africa. Its not L series quality but is ideal for travel due to the light weight and compact size. You will need a wide angle zoom for interiors etc and because you are using a crop sensor body, it will need to be in the 'ultra-wide' category. As it will be a travel lens, again light weight/small size is desirable. Something like the EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM would do. The IS will allow you to capture sharp pics indoors at low shutter speeds. 2 lenses covering 17 to 300mm should be sufficient for most of your needs!