Thread: Is there a need for a shutter?

Is there a need for a shutter?

I havent really thought about this questionindepth, but the question popped into my head on the way home from doing senior pictures yesterday. Is there a need for a "shutter" in a digital camera? If I understand it correctly (which I probly dont) the sensor is on for the duration of the exposure. So lets say you had a exposure of 1/125 if the sensor is on for 1/125 is there a need for a shutter staying open for the same duration? If there wasnt sync speeds could essentially go as high as well....Im not really sure because there wouldnt be a mechanical shutter having to move.

Let me know what you think, Im no expert just something I was thinking about last evening.

Thanks

Joel

Re: Is there a need for a shutter?

From what I understand...

Actually, some Nikon cameras and the orginal 1D (I think) have electronic shutters in which the sensor simply turned on for the duration of the shutter speed. The technology does push the max flash sync speed well beyond 1/250 sec (I've heard some Nikon shooters pushing 1/8000 sec, although that also restricts how much flash output is recorded and thus you lose several stops of light). The problem with the technology, however,is consistency. At the time the technology was introduced, the exposures would vary slightly from shot to shot even when the same settings were used across all the frames. Also, the sensors tended to fail after a relatively brief period of time. Those limitationshave keptthe technology from being used in even the most recent high-end SLRs.

You're right. To some degree there isn't much need for a mechanical shutter any longer. In fact, some (or maybe a lot, I'm not sure) lower end point and shoot digital cameras don't have a physical shutter. They do exactly as you say, turn the sensor on for the duration of the exposure, and then turn it off.