Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Adobe Lightroom----Whats your opinion

Adobe Lightroom----Whats your opinion

I am considering purchasing Lightroom, but wanted to hear your opinion before I indulge. I have downloaded the 30 day trial and it seems to offer the best of many worlds. Easy organization, healthy editing capabilities and printing and presentation. I already own PS 4 and Bridge, but workflow is difficult and cumbersome. So whats your opinion?
    Bob

Re: Adobe Lightroom----Whats your opinion

I personally love CS4 and Bridge, but thats me :P

I love it and so do many pros. If you get it, make sure you get Scott Kelby's Lightroom 2 book, it's a blast to read and a must to learn the program completely.

I'm just learning how to use LR2.4 more and more.. and it's honestly an amazing little piece of software!

I'd highly recommend it, and there's many sources out there for tips/tricks/etc.

http://www.lightroomkillertips.com/

If you have a pc there is no competition, if your on a mac aperture is at least as good. If you shoot RAW go buy it.

Quote Originally Posted by bob williams
    So whats your opinion?
    When it comes to ease of use, speed, simplicity, and integration, Lightroom is the best thing out there. That's why I bought it. I can jet through a thousand photos in a single sitting, and that's very helpful for event photography. (I was a Bibble owner before Lightroom, and that was fast and easy too.)

The biggest drawbacks are the lack of control and poor quality from high ISO (underexposed) images. For example, Lightroom lacks a simple linear raw exposure compensation slider. The slider they do provide is not raw, not linear, and is not simple. It also activates the highlight recovery tool behind the scenes. Worst of all, the results just look terrible.