Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: beginners lighting kit questions

beginners lighting kit questions

I have experience in video lighting, but I'm completely new to photography lights. Having a light kit full of fresnel/maxi brutes etc would be great, but I just can't afford that. I saw this on craigslist, what are your thoughts?

http://sfbay.craigslist.org/pen/pho/1350819094.html

I would like something flexible that can be used for portrait lights, product lighting, and experimental lighting that can use gels, as well as inexpensive and won't burn my apartment down.

What are your suggestions? Thanks.

Re: beginners lighting kit questions

Cozen

I have the Elinchrom D lite 400's and couldn't be happier. I am still new to lighting and have found these to be very forgiving and easy to operate. I've got a very basic web site if you want to have a look at, in the studio section most of these were done with the Elinchrom's www.rebeccasphotographics.comI am in country QueenslandAustralia, and know we just don't get the selection or service as you do in the States. Hope this helps.

Regards

Scott

If you want something [relatively] inexpensive, yet very flexible & portable, you might want to take a look at the information contained in the Strobist, and more specifically the Lighting 101 section. When reading it, keep in mind you don't actually need Pocketwizards starting out, as there are many lower cost alternatives to fit any experience level.

So what can you do with small, shoe-mount flashes used off-camera? Quite a bit...

(3 flashes--one is creating the sun effect in background)

(3 flashes--two visible in background)

(2 flashes)

(1 flash)

(1 flash)

(3 flashes)

Thanks for both of your replies.

I like the Elinchrom D's as it is probably something I'm more use to using when lighting, but they are out of my budget. also they don't look as portable as I'd want them to be.