Thread: Looking for a Sports/Portrait lens

Looking for a Sports/Portrait lens

Right now I shoot with a 24-105 and I really want something with more reach and Ideally some speed for sports. Im wondering what would be best between the 4 versions of the 70-200 also any open suggestions on what lens other then those 4 I should go for. I am a college student so keep price in mind as a factor.

Thanks,

--Matt

Re: Looking for a Sports/Portrait lens

the only lens other then those 70-200mms can balance the sports and portrait maybe the 135mm 2.0L. people might say it's too long for portrait, but I havn't heard any body complained about the 200mm 2.0L is too long for potrait[], and 135mm with a 1.6x body is ok for sports I guess?

I have the exact same 24-105mm Lens and I too was in the exact same situation; I was debating on either the 135mm or 200mm primes.

If you have money to burn...(lol)..., go for the 70-200mm 2.8L IS USM, I was contemplating for months on purchasing this lens and then decided to go for the plunge as the price had dropped via $225.00.

This lens is great for night/sports and portrait shots, however you may get away with the non-IS lens (600.00 savings) as long you have it on a tripod you should be fine...but there will be moments when the IS was available.

Check out this site on the lens reviews and sample images as well as www.pixel-peeper.com, a great place to check out images filtering on different lenses on different camera body's!

Hope this helps...
    Canon 450D Gripped, Canon 24-105 f/4L, Canon 70-200 f/2.8L IS USM II, Sigma 10-20 EX f/4-5.6, Canon S95

“There are always two people in every picture: the photographer and the viewer.” -Ansel Adams