Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Upgrading from a Rebel Xti

Upgrading from a Rebel Xti

Hello,

I've been a long time reader on this website. Im currently using a rebel xti, i consider myself an advanced amateur. Im looking to upgrade. I your average joe who as been saving money on the side and ive saved about like 4k from partime job, im currently a multimedia student. ok enough about my background.

Right now im in a debate of wheter to get the 5D Mk II with the 24-105 f/4 L or getting a 50d with the efs 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6, the 15mm fisheye, and the 70-200mm f/2.8 IS L. The main things i end up shooting are urban scenes and events like dance competitions and whatnot. Thats why im leaning towards the 50d with the 3 lenses and the fps, but the full frame and the video really intrigues me. Im not planning on getting anymore bodies after, i would just end up saving for lenses and other accesories.Thanks for the input in advance.

Re: Upgrading from a Rebel Xti

Hi KeiLo,

FWIW, I went from the 400D (European name for your
    model, I think) to the 40D, which some argue is still better than the 50D (read the dpreview report),
    and just purchased a 5D mk2.

Firstly, your lenses: my copy of the 24-105 flared a lot, especially in nighttime, urban shots and it was also slow (the IS doesn't help much shooting dancers). In your place, I'd probably look for a cheaper 40D and buy the 24-70 f/2.8 L. I preferred to save up and buy L glass (the 70-200 f/4 is simply beautiful and quite cheap, but the f/2.8 with IS is serious money, which I preferred to spend on the 5D mk2). Your EF-S lenses won't fit on your 5D. If by urban you also mean wide-angle, I found the EF-S 10-22 was a much better lens all round than the 17-40 L I had to buy for the Canon 5D mk2.