Thread: What's up with FD & EF Newbie post as you can tell

What's up with FD & EF Newbie post as you can tell

as you can tell from the title, im a newbie, i still dont know the difference between the ef and the fd. I've read about it online, but all i got was that 1 has a white square and the other one a red dot. I have Right now an 18-55 with a white square, and a 70-200 with a red dot. Now, i really dont know what the difference is except how it mounts on my T1i.

Also i have noticed that all the FD lenses are significantly cheaper than EF, and this is really why the question came in my head. I've recently got a 50mm 1:1.8 FD lens, and it looks NOTHING like the EF-50mm 1.8, i read it only has manual focus, and it has an FD mount, but im still kinda lost on why the FD, EF, EF-S difference, would anyone like to share some insight?? Thanks

Re: What's up with FD & EF Newbie post as you can tell

An FD mount is the type of mount that Canon used before the now current EF and EF-S mounts. Lenses with FD mounts are manual focus only. When Canon needed to introduce auto-focus lenses, they had to create a different mount to enable the technology. FD lenses aren't exactly obsolete, but they're a hell of a lot less useful than EF lenses with autofocus (assuming autofocus works).

EF lenses will work on all newer Canon cameras. However, EF-S lenses will only work on Canon cameras with APS-C sized sensors (which are smaller than their full-sized cousins). APS-C sized sensors are found in the Canon digital Rebels, xxD series, and 7D. Cameras with APS-C sized sensors can use EF and EF-S lenses, but full-frame cameras can only use EF lenses.

Dear trosky...

I think you got it wrong... It's not FD and EF... It's EF and EF-S... FD is an old, long discontinued format of Canon lens that works on old, analog, non auto-focus cameras.

The white square one you got is the EF-S lens. The red dot one is the EF.