Thread: I need someone to HELP!

I need someone to HELP!

Hello all! I am new to this form, but have been using the reviews for a long time. Lately I've been wanting to get a good lens to photograph indoor sports, mainly basketball, but have not been able to make a decision. I am using a Canon 40D so I don't mind bumping up the ISO because it handles it great. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Also, I will be sitting in the bleachers (and this is college basketball) and would like to keep purchase under $500, don't mind buying used.

Re: I need someone to HELP!

Back in the day... I shot college basketball for the school newspaper. B/W film, manual settings, manual focus. I pushed the film to 1600 and worked it a little in the lab. I used a 50 1.8 most of the time. Now for my digital 50D, I have the (auto focus) 50 1.4 and it is wonderful.

Tom

Welcome!!

For indoor basketball, you'll want f/2.8 at most- f/2 would be even better,even bumping the ISO to 1600 - you need to stop action. Keeping it under $500 with reasonable focal length is going to be tough. If you were on the sidelines, a shorter lens like 50mm would work decently, but from the bleachers you'll likely want more reach. For a new lens, the EF 100mm f/2 is probably your best bet; from the bleachers, you will likely still find yourself needing to crop images in post-processing. I was recently fortunate enough to find a used but in like-new condition EF 200mm f/2.8L II for $425, but that's a real bargain and I count myself very lucky with that purchase(and glad that I frequently check Craiglist). Check on KEH - that link currently pulls up 200mm f/2.8 lenses for $615 in Excellent-Plus condition, or $546 in Bargain condition - both push your budget a little, though; you can get a used 100mm f/2 at KEH for under $400, and new from Amazon for $430.

Quote Originally Posted by neuroanatomist

Welcome!!