Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Outing with 17-55/2.8

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

First Outing with 17-55/2.8

All,

I am new to the world of DSLR photography. I just purchased my 50D in November and on Friday just received my 17-55 lens. This is the first image I have posted and I know I have tons to learn and improve upon. Please don't hold back on any critique or suggestions. I'm guessing C&C means comments and critique, but let me know if I'm wrong.

This was my first outing with the new lens (yesterday). Believe it or not, this waterfall is snow-melt from outside of Tucson, AZ. It is uncropped, and if I remember correctly, no post processing other than converting it to a tif and then a small jpg for this post. It was bright out so 1/5 is the slowest shutter speed I could get.

Info:

12:40PM (overcast), Tv priority, 18mm, 1/5, f22, iso100, auto white balance, tripod mounted and 2 sec delay.

[img]/cfs-file.ashx/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.38.96/FEB27_2D00_123948_2D00_1.JPG[/img]

Re: First Outing with 17-55/2.8

Congrats on a great lens and a nice pic! The exposure could have been a little longer for just a bit more blur of the water (you'd need a neutral density filter for that, 0.9/3-stop would be a useful density), but as it is it looks quite good.

I agree with the above. The pictures looks a bit overexposed the way it is. A neutral density filter would allow you to slow the shutter down a tad longer while maintaining a proper exposure. Keep in mind that you'll start losing a bit of sharpness after f/7.6 because of DLA. Since you might be unfamiliar with what DLA is, I'm posting Bryan's explanation here:

"* DLA (Diffraction Limited Aperture) is the result of a mathematical
    formula that approximates the
    aperture where diffraction begins to visibly affect image sharpness at
    the pixel level.
    Diffraction at the DLA is only barely visible when viewed at full-size