Thread: First time portrait photography

First time portrait photography

I'm doing senior portraits for my brother graduating this year. I actually bought an EF 50mm f/1.8 for this purpose, but I found myself keeping the 70-200 f/2.8 on almost the whole time. It worked great out in this state park.

I used the built in flash @ -2 EV for both.

Canon 50 w/ EF 70-200mm f/2.8L @ 200mm 1/320 sec f/2.8 ISO 160 +0.67 ev
    <div>[img]/cfs-file.ashx/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.36.66/IMG_5F00_52662.jpg[/img]</div>
    <div></div>
    <div></div>
    <div></div>
    <div></div>
    <div>Canon 50D w/ EF 70-200mm f/2.8 @ 200mm 1/250 sec f/2.8 ISO 160 +0.67 ev</div>
    <div></div>
    <div></div>
    <div></div>
    <div></div>
    <div>[img]/cfs-file.ashx/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.36.66/IMG_5F00_52642.jpg[/img]</div>
    <div></div>
    <div></div>
    <div></div>
    <div>Critique/Comments welcome. This is my first time trying portrait photography.</div>

Re: First time portrait photography

<p class="MsoNormal" style="margin: 0cm 0cm 0pt;"]<o><span style="font-family: Times New Roman; font-size: small;"]</o>
    <p class="MsoNormal" style="margin: 0cm 0cm 0pt;"]<span style="font-family: Times New Roman; font-size: small;"]Hi Alex,
    <p class="MsoNormal" style="margin: 0cm 0cm 0pt;"]<span style="font-family: Times New Roman; font-size: small;"]Nice shots, I like the first better then the second, less busy.<span style="mso-spacerun: yes;"] With your second shot be aware of background, lighter colours and distractions will bring your eye to these areas first, that is why your first photo is so much better, maybe get your subject to sit / squat in front of the rock wall, don&rsquo;t have trees growing out of heads.
    <p class="MsoNormal" style="margin: 0cm 0cm 0pt;"]<o><span style="font-family: Times New Roman; font-size: small;"]</o>