Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The Lake is FINALLY Thawing!

The Lake is FINALLY Thawing!

I was able to get over to Lake Michigan slightly before sunset and was finally able try out my new 7D & 100-400mm lens! Thank goodness for daylight savings time!!!

I'm still VERY new at this so I know I still have lots to learn about photography and post-processing. These weren't really pp much at all ...so much to do ...so little time! Any and all suggestions highly appreciated!

These guys are patiently awaiting a full thaw of Lake Michigan!

[img]/cfs-file.ashx/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.37.26/IMG_5F00_2290.JPG[/img]

[img]/cfs-file.ashx/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.37.26/IMG_5F00_2354.JPG[/img]

[img]/cfs-file.ashx/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.37.26/IMG_5F00_2369.JPG[/img]

[img]/cfs-file.ashx/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.37.26/IMG_5F00_2466.JPG[/img]

[img]/cfs-file.ashx/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.37.26/IMG_5F00_2506.JPG[/img]

[img]/cfs-file.ashx/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.37.26/IMG_5F00_2388a.JPG[/img]

[img]/cfs-file.ashx/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.37.26/IMG_5F00_2497a.JPG[/img]

[img]/cfs-file.ashx/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.37.26/IMG_5F00_2530.JPG[/img]

Thanks & have a great night,

Denise

Re: The Lake is FINALLY Thawing!

Hi Denise,

Great shots! Glad to see you're enjoying your new gear.

Might I suggest a slight increase in colour temperature/ fiddling with your white balance settings. I think some of the shots could be a little warmer. Especially the last one where the whites in the posts/ gulls seem a little bluish to me (could just be my eyes playing tricks on me too!).

Composition's great though - I particularly like # 6.

cheers, Ben.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/ben_taylor_au/ www.methodicallymuddled.wordpress.com