Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: xsi but thinking I should have got a 50d...

xsi but thinking I should have got a 50d...

So, I am new to digital photography, however I took 6 years of photography classes in high school and college combined using film.

I recently purchased the xsi about 5 months ago, and I feel as though I should have spent a few extra hundred dollars on a better camera such as the 50d which really appeals to me. I went with the xsi because it was more entry level for a newbie to dslr such as me.

I have read the reviews on this site for both the xsi and the 50d, however I had a hard time getting through all the tech lingo on the 50d review and it was just too much for me to comprehend.

So, my question is: did I make a mistake buying the xsi (since I already am an experienced photographer)?

And, what real advantages can you list in simple english that the 50d has over the xsi?

**If I do sell my xsi at a loss and buy a 50d, will the 50d be considered a suitable/serious enthusiast camera that i can utilize for many years to come?**

Thank you very much for all and any feedback!!

Re: xsi but thinking I should have got a 50d...

I don't think you've made such a bad choice there.A lot of fantastic images come out of the simplest of cameras. As far as I know some (not all) of the major advantages of the 50D over the xsi are a more rugged build, AF microadjust, higher frame rate, a fewmore custom functionsin the menuand a little less shutter lag. I haven't looked into it enough to comment on the noise performance etc though, so that may also be a factor.

As far a selling the xsi and hoping to keep the 50D forever - when you progress from beginning out to becoming an enthusiast you'll likely find that there's always something newer and better that you'd like to buy. I'd recommend using your xsi until you feel that you have "outgrown" it in your skills then think about upgrading.

Just my thoughts anyway. Cheers, Ben.