Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Indoor Sports Lens......What would you do with $1K????

Indoor Sports Lens......What would you do with $1K????

Newbie Alert..........I'm looking for a versatile, allaround lens that is fast enough to be used for indoor sports, tack sharp for portraits, and provides sufficient reach. I know I'm asking for alot, but I only have about less than $1K to splurge. For the most part, this lens will be used more for indoor basketball. Like most of you that are in the market for the "ideal lens", I've been doing EXTENSIVE research on different lens and it seems like just when you have one nailed down, a review or two will alter my decision. As mentioned, I'm completely new to the DSLR world, but like most want only the best equipment(that my budget will allow)My current outfit is as follows:

Canon T1i

50mm f1.4

70-200mm f/4L

I've been looking at the 24-70 f2.8, 100mm f2.8, 135mm f/2L. Myfirst inclination was to get the 135mm and buya 1.4 extension for the additional reach, but then starting having doubts about the fixed FL, especially when taking portraits. I'm so confused and overwhelmed. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Indoor Sports Lens......What would you do with $1K????

For indoor basketball shots, I'd lean toward the 85mm f/1.8 or the 135mm f/2 L. Both are great portraiture lenses, however, you need room with which to work (more so with the 135L). I wouldn't suggest the 50mm f/1.4 because I don't think it would be long enough for indoor basketball.

While you can push the ISOs on modern cameras a bit more than you used to (and still get acceptable images), f/2.8 is the absolute narrowest aperture I'd try to use for indoor/lowlight gymnasiums. For me, at least, that rules out the 70-200mm f/4 L (even though that is a fantastic lens--just not for this particular need).

I 2nd Sean suggestions.

Welcome to the TDP forums!

Quote Originally Posted by vvjsv5