Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best 2nd lens

Best 2nd lens

<p class="MsoNormal"]I know that I have stated this before, but I will start by saying that I am new to digital photography and I am a new member of this site. I have spent a lot of time reading all of the postings and I have to say that I have learned more than if I just picked up a book (I have read three so far though). My question is this: I am looking for a better lens to replace my Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS. This lens is way too &ldquo;slow&rdquo; and I can never get the right amount of light. I have used it for outdoor photography (wildlife, landscapes, and pictures of the kids) but now that I know better, I want better. I would really like a quality lens that I can use to take pictures of the kids playing sports (mostly volleyball and basketball) as well as a general purpose lens to augment my current bag. I currently have a Canon Xsi (450D) with the kit lens (Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS) and the 55-250 that I mentioned earlier. I also just purchased the Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM Lens (thanks for all the advice) and I am really excited to get it. I was leaning towards the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L USM Lens (I just cannot afford the IS version) but after reading the Brian&rsquo;s review and some of your posts I am thinking the Canon EF 135mm f/2.0 L USM Lens would probably be best. I am planning to stay with the 1.6 crop for a while (maybe upgrade to the EOS 7D) especially with the 17-55 on the way. What do you guys think is better overall? I know that the 70-200 is great and that the f2.8 will allow me to get great shots even in low light, but from what I have read, it still won&rsquo;t do nearly as well as the EF 135 indoors (especially with the gym lighting). I only hesitate because I like the versatility of the 70-200. I cannot afford to buy both right now so I want to make sure that I get the most out of what I get. I have seen that the EF 135 has many uses and takes great pict