Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Display Focal Length

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    14

    Display Focal Length



    I just upgraded to my first DSLR (T2i), and have a quick question. When using the camera to review the pictures you have taken, is there any place that displays what the focal length was for the picture? I know it is in the EXIF data, but it would be nice to see without having to download the picture to my PC.

  2. #2
    Administrator Sean Setters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Savannah, GA
    Posts
    3,343

    Re: Display Focal Length



    I just looked through the T2i manual, and I'm not sure it's possible to display the focal length of a given image in-camera. I thought it would be displayed if you hit the "DISPLAY" button a couple of times, but that seems to be just about the only relevant information that isn't readily available.


    Anyone else?

  3. #3
    Senior Member neuroanatomist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    3,716

    Re: Display Focal Length



    Not as far as I know. You need to remember, or check the EXIF data on your computer later. Or, use a prime lens... [:P]

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    14

    Re: Display Focal Length



    Is this just the T2i, or is this true for most DSLR's

  5. #5
    Senior Member neuroanatomist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    3,716

    Re: Display Focal Length



    Quote Originally Posted by LJ2b2c


    Is this just the T2i, or is this true for most DSLR's



    True for all of the Canon ones, AFAIK. I can say from personal experience that neither the T1i nor the 7D can display the focal length during image review.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    1,273

    Re: Display Focal Length



    Quote Originally Posted by neuroanatomist
    I can say from personal experience that neither the T1i nor the 7D can display the focal length during image review.

    Or the rebel XT, 1DIIN, or 5DII.


    I was quite annoyed by this at first. By now it is just one of those Canon stupidities I've gotten used to.



  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    159

    Re: Display Focal Length



    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Ruyle


    Quote Originally Posted by neuroanatomist
    I can say from personal experience that neither the T1i nor the 7D can display the focal length during image review.

    Or the rebel XT, 1DIIN, or 5DII.


    I was quite annoyed by this at first. By now it is just one of those Canon stupidities I've gotten used to.



    <div style="clear: both;"]</div>


    The 50D can't display the focal length either AFAIK

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,301

    Re: Display Focal Length



    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Ruyle
    I was quite annoyed by this at first. By now it is just one of those Canon stupidities I've gotten used to.

    Perhaps a stupid question, but why would you need to see the focal length when viewing your photo in-camera? I'm not seeing the need for it.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    14

    Re: Display Focal Length



    After reading some of the reviews of the kit lens that came with my T2i, they seem to indicate that it is sharpest within a certain range. After taking a few pictures, I was trying to see how they fell within that range.

  10. #10
    Senior Member neuroanatomist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    3,716

    Re: Display Focal Length



    Quote Originally Posted by Sheiky
    why would you need to see the focal length when viewing your photo in-camera?

    Quote Originally Posted by LJ2b2c
    After reading some of the reviews of the kit lens that came with my T2i, they seem to indicate that it is sharpest within a certain range. After taking a few pictures, I was trying to see how they fell within that range.

    Well, I can think of worse places to judge image sharpness than reviewing them on the 3" LCD on the back of the camera. But honestly, I'd have to think really hard, and probably not have much luck. A 12" VGA computer monitor smeared with vaseline might be worse, for example.


    If you want to critically review your image sharpness/focus, the camera isn't the place to do that. Same goes for evaluating exposure based on the image itself - the histogram(s) should become your best friend(s)!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •