Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: whats lenses do I have to buy?

whats lenses do I have to buy?

Hi, I am very new to this DSLR, I only knew about this type of camera few days ago through my sister. Anyway I just bough a Canon 450D body only and I need to buy the lens to go with it. I was looking at the 50mm f/1.8 lens and 55-250mm f/4-5.6 (base on what my sister told me to buy) but then when I read some of the comment on this web site I got confused that do I have to buy the lens kit which is 18-55mm in order to use the lens I wanted to buy or not? Or can I just buy the lenses I want and use straight away? Also what is two lenses? I saw someone was talking about using 2 lenses to take this type of photo and 1 lens to take a different type of photo. I really appreciate for everyone help.

Re: whats lenses do I have to buy?

Hi Jeany,

You do not have to buy the kit lens. The 50mm f/1.8 and 55-250mm f/4.5-5.6 will work just fine. Although you may find that you want something wider. 50mm on the 450D is not very wide.

Let us know what type of pictures you want to take, what your budget is, and I'm sure you'll get plenty of advice.

Derek

I might suggest something like a 17-55mm or a 17-85mm for your walking around lens. I think you will find that 50 or 55mm on the short side will not give enough wide angle view making you want to back off a "close up" quite a fair piece. Those are both EF-S lens and I would double check to make sure that they sill work on a 450D body. Mostly the point I was trying to make is that I would suggest that you have some/a lens that starts with a lower mm than a 50 or 55mm by a fair amount.

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"]</input><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden" />
    <div id="refHTML"]</div>

Congratulations on your DSLR, you'll love it. I'll agree with the others about needing a wider lens. As you seem to be looking for lower prices lenses, consider a Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8. It's supposed to be a great lens.