Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Please share your thoughts on this: 1000D to 2nd-hand 50D

Please share your thoughts on this: 1000D to 2nd-hand 50D

Hello everyone. I'm pretty much drooling over this 2nd-hand 50D offer. I'm not sure if it's a good buy.

I'm a hobbyist and I currently have the kit lens and the nifty-fifty only and the 580EX II.

Since this offer was slammed into my face -- a rarely used 2nd-hand 50D for about USD 890.00 including a battery grip and wired shutter-release..

I know the full potential of this body will be harnessed with good glass but I don't have the cash shell out yet but I was thinking of getting this deal by selling my 1000D kit.

Your thoughts will be very much appreciated.

Thank you always for your help and input.

- Angelo
    Cheers!
    --
    AnGelo Chiu (MrGreenBug in Flickr), Blog: http://mrgreenbug.blogspot.com

Re: Please share your thoughts on this: 1000D to 2nd-hand 50D

Looks like a decent deal if the body is in good shape. Not awesome, but decent. When the 60D was announced, Henry's in Canada put their 50Ds on clearance for $799.99 body only. Add in another $100 tax, and you're at a price similar to this used one. I'm not sure what the 50D prices are in the US. Assuming you can find a similar US price for a new camera, you're basically getting a free grip and shutter release cable.

As for whether it's worth it for you, only you can answer. How much can you sell your XS for? You'll need new memory cards, and potentially new spare batteries, factor those into the cost.

Now, is the cost worth it to get a more solid body, faster frame rate, slightly better high-ISO, spot metering, AF microadjust, the extra info LCD panel, the joystick (I have no idea what it's for TBH), and potentially a few more bells and whistles? Up to you.
    On Flickr - Namethatnobodyelsetook on Flickr
    R8 | R7 | 7DII | 10-18mm STM | 24-70mm f/4L | Sigma 35mm f/1.4 | 50mm f/1.8 | 85mm f/1.8 | 70-300mm f/4-5.6L | RF 100-500mm f/4-5-7.1L