Thread: White balance tools?? eg. Grey card, expo disk

White balance tools?? eg. Grey card, expo disk

Greetings to all,

As a keen beginner i would be interested in some feedback from the more experienced and (those beginners that have discovered "the best way") on this forum as to the preferred White Balance setting methods. I have a grey card and use it when I get around to it. More often than not I leave the7D set on AWB and when I sort through the images later, I adjust white balance in Photoshop if I think it needs it. There are so many things to play around with that after I have "messed" with an image I sometimes wonder if I have helped or hindered.

Is there a preferred methos for setting WB that you guys just reach for, because you know it works and it is easy to use.

Thanks for any comments.

Steve
    Steve U
    Wine, Food and Photography Student and Connoisseur

Re: White balance tools?? eg. Grey card, expo disk

Hi Steve,

First off, one of the best things you can do for white balance is to shoot in RAW format, if you aren't already. If you are shooting in JPG and adjusting WB and other things in Photoshop, "messed with" can become "messed up" since each change steals away a little bit of image quality. If you shoot RAW, you can set the white balance how you like (including click-WB from a gray card), without penalty.

I have tired several methods - a ColorRight to set an in-camera custom WB being one. That is important for tricky lighting if you're shooting JPG, but for RAW I don't bother. I sometimes include a DataColor SpyderCube or an X-Rite Color Checker Passport in one image in a series, if I'll be shooting a whole set under similar lighting (indoor portraits, for example, especially if it's a mix of ambient and flash lighting).