Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: HIgh ISO on XTi....

  1. #1
    Senior Member jks_photo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    173

    HIgh ISO on XTi....



    anyone here get good results from an XTi at iso1600????


    is it usable? [ in the sense that the pictures will be decent enough]

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    300

    Re: HIgh ISO on XTi....



    I don

  3. #3
    Senior Member clemmb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Glenn Heights, TX
    Posts
    1,307

    Re: HIgh ISO on XTi....



    I have the XTi. I shoot weddings and often with available light that is poor. I do not like the results past 400. At 800 it is just unacceptable. I use my 5D up to 1250 with expectable results. My next upgrade is to replace the XTi.


    Mark
    Mark

  4. #4
    Senior Member jks_photo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    173

    Re: HIgh ISO on XTi....



    hi clemmb,


    yes i too am planning to upgrade my xti soon. am kind of leaning towards a 5dmkii but will wait a while for a replacement just in case it comes out soon

  5. #5

    Re: HIgh ISO on XTi....



    I have a couple of test shots taken a fewyearsago. I tested the lens and high iso´s. Quality is ceartinly subjective. Remember that it is a huge difference between what you see on-screen and what you see in a print. I have 13"x19" B&W portrait prints shot at 1600 ISO, no noise reduction, and they look great. Only a hint of "noise" can bee seen at close inspection.





    Canon XTi /400D @ 1600 ISO / No noise reduction / LensEF70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM @ 190mm, Av( Aperture Value )8.0, Tv( Shutter Speed )1/400


    [img]/resized-image.ashx/__size/800x0/__key/CommunityServer-Discussions-Components-Files/7/7077.IMG_5F00_4681_2D00_Test_2D00_for_2D00_TDP_2D0 0_1600_2D00_ISO.jpg[/img]








    Canon XTi /400D, LensEF70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM @70mm,Tv( Shutter Speed )1/640,Av( Aperture Value )13.0, Underexposed -2EV and ADDED +2EV in post.


    Treated in DPP. Luminance noise reduction set to -3, and chrominance noise reduction set to 20


    [img]/resized-image.ashx/__size/800x0/__key/CommunityServer-Discussions-Components-Files/7/0844.IMG_5F00_4975_2D00_1600_2D00_ISO_2D00_Minus2E V_2D00_Pluss2EV_2D00_in_2D00_PostProcessing.jpg[/img]








    Same as above but this one wasfiltered in Neat Image


    [img]/resized-image.ashx/__size/800x0/__key/CommunityServer-Discussions-Components-Files/7/0385.IMG_5F00_4975_2D00_ISO_2D00_1600_2D002D00_2EV _2D00_Added_2D002B00_2EV_2D00_in_2D00_PP_5F00_filt ered_2D00_NeatImage.jpg[/img]





    The two last ones are pretty extreme, I know.



  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, Washington, USA
    Posts
    1,956

    Re: HIgh ISO on XTi....



    Quote Originally Posted by jks_photo
    is it usable?

    Sometimes yes, sometimes no. It depends on the circumstance. There are many, many factors that affect noise, and the ISO setting is just one of them.
    • Color termperature of the light and White balance
    • Black level
    • Contrast and dynamic range
    • Saturation
    • Display size
    • Raw converter
    • Noise reduction
    • Downsampling filter



    Probably the most important factor is display size. Let's say you normally make prints that are 30x20 inches. At this size, it's very easy to see noise, and let's say you never go higher than ISO 400. Now let's sayyou are making a new image for your facebook profile picture. That's only 200 pixels wide, which corresponds to a print size of only 1 inch (at 200 ppi). You can increase the ISO to ISO 6400 (!!) and it will still have the same noise visibility as ISO 400 in the large picture. That's why you can't take web images as proof of noise performance -- they correspond to very tiny print sizes. When you go to make a large print, the noise will be far more visible.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    397

    Re: HIgh ISO on XTi....



    I have used the Rebel Xti extensively at ISO 1600. Although not class-leading (with the release of new Rebel models), I found the noise on the Xti very manageable. I would strongly suggest using noise reduction software (such as Adobe Lightroom, Apple Aperture or Noise Ninja) to lower noise. During the 2 years or so of using the Xti, I found the noise better "surpressed" when printed small (or when displayed on the Web, preferably at a lower resolution). Care should be taken for extra large prints - But again, noise reduction software will greatly improve the quality of your results.


    Hope I helped. []


    -Aleks

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    300

    Re: HIgh ISO on XTi....



    Just out of curiosity, under what circumstances would you be using ISO1600?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, Washington, USA
    Posts
    1,956

    Re: HIgh ISO on XTi....



    I use ISO 1600 under many circumstances. Indoor events (concerts, meetings, parties, etc.) when I

  10. #10

    Re: HIgh ISO on XTi....



    Quote Originally Posted by Daniel Browning


    I probably use 1600 more than 100.






    Ditto

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •