Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What lens do I need for full body portrait/dogs

What lens do I need for full body portrait/dogs

Heya

Im looking for a lens that allows me to get close(around 2-3meters and get a full body portrait of people and dogs. It might be a silly question and you might head me towards the lens recomandations but Ive read several reviews with no luck for me, Im just a beginner so please forgive me I have a full fram body if it helps to guide me in the right direction. I will also have a umbrella and softbox at my disposal and I already have a 580ex II speedlite.

Cheers

Ragnar

Re: What lens do I need for full body portrait/dogs

What camera do you have? FF vs. 1.3x vs. 1.6x will make a difference in your framing with a given focal length.

Quote Originally Posted by Ragnar
    I have a full fram body if it helps to guide me in the right direction.

I think he has aFF body[:P] And If I remeber corectly it'sthe 5D II he was angonising over for in the 1D III thread.

Cheers,

John.

Unless my math is very off, you
    On Flickr - Namethatnobodyelsetook on Flickr
    R8 | R7 | 7DII | 10-18mm STM | 24-70mm f/4L | Sigma 35mm f/1.4 | 50mm f/1.8 | 85mm f/1.8 | 70-300mm f/4-5.6L | RF 100-500mm f/4-5-7.1L

My bad,

I have a 5d Mark II,70-200mm f4 IS,speedlite 580ex II for equipment. The 24mm f1/4L maybe is a good choice? Or should I opt for the mark II ? Do I really need an L lens ? Would it be okay with a Canon EF 24mm f/2.8 ?

The dogs will vary in size as it is around 200 dogs participating

24mm F1.4L II is an excelent lens, I would get the II version over the I version if you could afford it. BUT.... I think on the 5D Mark II you would find it to wide unless you are wanting to do groups or very close.

The 35mm F1.4 might be a better choice.

24-70mm F2.8L Maybe?

I moved from home theater(very expensive hobby) to the camera world and my gosh a lens costs an arm and a leg haha!