Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L USM - No IS

EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L USM - No IS

I am still a not so experienced photographer so excuse my lack of knowledge.

In the EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L USM lens ( www.the-digital-picture.com/.../Canon-EF-24-70mm-f-2.8-L-USM-Lens-Review.aspx ) why is it that CANON have no Image stabilization (IS) when it is a so high end product of the L series ?

Is it because it is a "fast" (f/2.8) lens and shutter speeds are bound to be high ?

Re: EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L USM - No IS

It's probably marketing. For that amount of money you either buy a fast f2.8 lens without IS or a "slow" f4 lens with IS. This way they can sell two types of lenses. The production cost of the f4 lenses are mostly cheaper so if they would apply an IS system to the 24-70 they would cut their own fingers pretty much, because the demand on the 24-105 F4L would drop like crazy.

If you follow the Canon rumors and demands of photographers a little bit, you'll see that a 24-70 L with IS is probably the most "hoped for" lens there is. It's rumored to be announced ever since I started photographing so at least 2,5 years or so []

I doubt it will come and if it will, it will be in a different budget probably[A]

I think the 24-70mm f/2.8 L IS will come eventually. However, it will be in a price point well above the 24-105. The 70-200mm line (with an f/2.8, an f/2.8 IS, an F/4, and an F/4 IS version). Just because Canon makes an f/2.8 version of the lens in the same focal length, it doesn't seem to diminish the demand for the f/4 versionssignificantly enough to stop production.All the lenses fill a niche, and the reason everyone doesn't get the f/2.8L IS is because of its hefty price tag. Therefore, if anything, the additional f/4 lenses do nothing but increase overall sales by giving the more budget conscious consumers an obtainable lens.