Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Canon Lens

Canon Lens

Dear all from this community,
    I'm a brazilian dentist and on September 27th I
    will be in NY, and in this occasion I intend to accquirea brand
    newCanon Lens 24/105mm F4L IS USM in B&H. The seller personhave
    told me that they have three types of lens (canon USA, Canon import and a
    Canon lens "WHITE BOX" that is cheapper because it was part of a kit with body and lens together and now it is sold separately (in a WHITE BOX). I would like to ask you all if you guys could help me to clarify a doubt
    about these Canon lens. I wonder
    if this type of lens(White Box) hasthesame quality as the other ones.
    Do you know these types of lens? If you know, would you really recommend White
    Box Lens?

I'm truly gratefull for your help
    Best regards
    <span style="color: #888888;"]Otair Carvalho

Re: Canon Lens

Actually, there are four types:

1. USA

2. Import

3. USA White Box

4. Import White Box

All of them are the same quality - the only difference is warranty coverage and rebate eligibility. The "Import" versions don

Quote Originally Posted by Daniel Browning

The "Import" versions don't have any "official" Canon warranty coverage, but the word on the street is that Canon will repair them under warranty just like the USA versions.

My understanding is that the Import version does not have a official canon US warranty but does have a canon warranty. My understanding is that if I need warranty work on an import lens that I may have to send it to Japan for repair.

Mark
    Mark