Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ultra Wide Angle lens recommendation for Canon T3i

Ultra Wide Angle lens recommendation for Canon T3i

Hi there.

I recently bought a Canon T3i and I would like to get an ultra wide lens for it in the near future, therefore i am doing some research. I am fairly new in the topic so i would appreciate all help.

My first big dilemma is whether i should go for an EF-S or an L lens ? Since the T3i is not a full body I am not sure whether investing in an L series lens even makes sense ? Currently i have two lenses in mind, the Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 and the Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM Ultra Wide Angle Zoom Lens.

Can someone give me some hints which choice would be more logical ? My approach is the wider the better and quality over price (in a reasonable range).

Thanks a lot

Re: Ultra Wide Angle lens recommendation for Canon T3i

The 17-40 is not much wider than the 18-55 kit lens, which you likely came with your camera. If you are simply looking for a better lens in that range for a APS-C camera, you would be much better off with the 17-55 f2.8.

If, however, you want a wide angle, you want something on the wide end at 12mm or less. The only Canon-branded option is the 10-22. There are, also a number of third-party ultra-wide lenses which you might want to consider as well.

I have the 10-22 and love it. Since I do a lot of hiking and like to get wide panoramas it was the first lens I added to my kit.

-joe

Quote Originally Posted by Pegabee
    ...<span>the T3i is not a full body ...Currently i have two lenses in mind, the Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 and the Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM Ultra Wide Angle Zoom Lens...<span>My approach is the wider the better and quality over price (in a reasonable range)