Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Software Recommendations

Software Recommendations

Hi Everyone,

I just noticed that Amazon has Lightroom 3 for $150 again. I currently only use DPP to process my photos but have been planning on upgrading. Based on what I have heard people say, I have been leaning toward DXO Optic Pro 6 or Lightroom 3.

Any thoughts or recommendations?
    Thanks,
    Brant

Quote Originally Posted by Kayaker72 View Post
    Any thoughts or recommendations?
    I like DxO Optics Pro, especially if it has profiles for all the lenses/bodies you use. I use LR3 because it's faster (for me). For some shots I use Raw Therapee 4, which is very flexible, high quality, but slow and still a bit buggy.

Hi Brant,

I have been using Lightroom for a few years now and I think it's absolutely great.
    I personally love the library mode where you can easily access and manage all your photos and do very basic things.
    And when you want to do more specific edits on a photo you go into the developer mode, which sounds like a big deal, but it's just clicking a button
    I do pretty much everything in Lightroom exept for HDR and very demanding stuff. That's where I use CS5.
    But since you have used DPP I'm pretty sure you'll love Lightroom. I had to switch back to DPP a few times and each time it felt as a pain in the butt
    I would suggest downloading the trial and see if you like it.
    As far as DXO concerns. I have no experience nor knowledge about it so I can't tell you anything about it. If it would be 100x better I probably would have heard that already and I didn't so...

Good luck,
    Jan

I use and really like DxO for RAW conversions. It's pretty bad at library management, I use Aperture 3 for that.