Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Good Starting Birding Lens?

Senior Member francongphotography's Avatar

Good Starting Birding Lens?

Hi all,

I'm a newbie, and I've been doing bird photography for a little bit now..and I really want to upgrade my 70-300 tamron lens to something that can give me more reach, and better IQ. Really need some opinions on this...and I only got CDN 1.5k to spend as I'm still a highschool student.

Many thanks,
    Franco

http://francongphotography.wordpress.com/

Welcome Franco

My first birding lens was the Canon 100-400 IS, but if I knew yesterday what I know today....I'd of originally purchased the Canon 400 f5.6.

My reasoning; the 100-400 was on 400mm 90% of the time for my shooting and I really didn't need its flexibility, although at times, I also used it for landscapes and panos.

The 400 will give you good hand hold ability/carrying size, IQ and it fits your budget. It also fits in w/your 70-300 zoom which will allow you to keep your mm flexibility.

Don't misunderstand my not suggesting 100-400, its a great lens, but over laps your 70-300mm too much.

Good luck
    Bill

You only have two choices in that price range to get a longer reach.

I am going to go opposite of Bill on this one, go with the 100-400mm L

The only reason is that the 400mm f5.6 doesn't have IS. If your going to be on tripod all the time then or just birds in flight then I would consider the 400mm f5.6.

I'll second Rick on this one (sorry, Bill!). You mentioned wanting both longer and better IQ than the Tamron, and the 100-400mm will give you that throughout the range.

Also, unless you're only shooting birds in flight, the IS will be a big help, and allow you to use lower ISO at f/5.6 (even so, I'm often at ISO 800 or higher for birds in shade).

Senior Member francongphotography's Avatar
    Thank you all for replying!