Thread: 400D/50D AF comparison

400D/50D AF comparison

Hi all, I've been absent from the forum for a long time. I've been using a much abused 400D for a the last 5 years and it's on the point of dying permanently. I have the oppertunity to buy an almost new 50D at a good price and it will give me the increased fps I want plus a more rugged body. What I would really like to know from those of you with firsthand experience is how the AF compares between the two models? Is the 50D AF noticeably faster/more accurate? Of course I'd love a 7D, but the money isn't available! Thanks in advance for your views.

Welcome back - things have changed around here, just a few days ago the forum backbone was changed, so we're all still getting used to it.

Unfortunately, I can't offer any first hand experience with either body, but I can offer some specification-based observations. The 400D has 9 AF points, only the center point is a cross type (which can detect features in multiple orientations, making it more likely a focus lock will be achieved). The 50D also has 9 AF points, but all of them are cross-type. Also, the center point on the 400D is more precise and accurate with f/2.8 or faster lenses, because one of the two lines in the '+' shaped AF point is f/2.8 sensitive. The 50D also has enhanced function with f/2.8 or faster lenses, but instead it's a dual-cross point with an f/2.8-sensitive 'x' superimposed on the f/5.6-sensitive '+'. That means the 50D center point is more likely to get a lock with the f/2.8 part of the sensor. Basically, the 400D uses the same AF sensor used in the 20D and 30D. The 40D got a new sensor, and that has been reused in the 50D and 60D (i.e. it's still current, but then so is the T3i/600D's - it's the same one in your 400D).

As for AF speed, the 400D uses Digic2 whereas the 50D uses Digic4 - two generations faster, and the AF speed and AI Servo AF tracking will be better because of that.