Thread: Strobist question

Strobist question

Question

When I am using my 580exII on camera and am using the built in IR to trigger two other 580exII off camera
    AND
    I am using ETTL on all units with the on camera as the master
    one off camera speedlight set to A and one set to B
    I can balance A B on the camera menu no problem

Ok so here is the question
    if the metering is done by a preflash on the master unit
    first why does the preflash not set off the slaves
    second will the preflash set off a monolight (too soon)
    third if the master takes a reading from the preflash determines how to distribute the flash to the slaves by the ratio set in the menu
    Does it know how far my slaves are from the subject?(flash fall off is a square of the flash to subject distance)
    Last edited by iND; 12-01-2011 at 04:52 PM.

Wow, Ind, these are some loaded questions---But let me share some of my experience---

1st--I have no experience with monolights, but My guess would be no, unless the monolight has a simple "slave mode" and in this case it fires off of the light emitted by the flash and not the IR. I don't know if there are any monolights that are compatable with Canon's IR system.

2nd, The slaves should fire from the "test shot" not neccessarily the pre flash. If they are not firing from a test shot, then you need to investigate other problems or set-up issues.

3rd, I do not know the physics/electronics behind the system, But I can tell you how it behaves when I have used multiple flashes with ratios established.