Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: just got a $700 christmas bonus. need some opinions on what to spend it on.

just got a $700 christmas bonus. need some opinions on what to spend it on.

Here's my current set up:
    Canon 30D
    Canon 24-70mm L
    Canon 70-300mm IS
    Canon speedlite 430ex

Im not a professional photog by any means and dont aspire to make this hobby into a job anytime soon. But i do love photography and offer my photo services to several different events at my church and my job. So i want to be well equipped to handle a vast majority of photography situations.
    So just recently I got a $700 bonus and i want to drop it into photo equipment.
    Now the question is: What?

Im currently shooting the 30D so a body upgrade would be nice and is something i have been wanting to do for a while. But what body should i upgrade to?
    50D: in my price range but is it worth the upgrade?

5D mark I: i have come across a couple for about $800. I could probably squeeze an extra $100 if necessary.

7D: out of money range but should i wait and save up more to get this body

1D mark II: i have seen a couple of these on ebay around the $700 range. But $700 for a 10 yr old camera. is it really worth it??

If not a body then should i buy some glass?
    these are the ones i was looking at that were in my price:
    Canon 70-200mm L f/4
    Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8
    Canon 50mm f/1.4
    Canon 85mm f/1.8
    Canon 135mm L f/2

Any opinions and/or recomendations you guys have would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

I wouldn't do the 50D, it is not a big enough step up IMO.

I would vote for selling the 30D and saving a bit more for the 7D. That would give you a pleasant jump up in technology.

Your canon 70-300mm is the non L version right? The Canon 70-200mm L F/4 would probably replace it if you didn't need the 300mm reach. Maybe sell the 70-300mm and get the IS version of the 70-200mm.