Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Best canon lens for wedding photography? 24-70mm f2.8

Best canon lens for wedding photography? 24-70mm f2.8

I upgraded my 70-200 f4 to the f2-8 with no regrets. My background is indoor sports. but my last wedding with the 17-49mm f2.8 was forgetable. Even with flash Im not satisfied. Is the 24-70 f2.8 my best bet since I can only afford one new lens a year

I dont mind heavy I just want great shots.

How is the 24-70 wide open.

I also upgraded 20D to 50D

Any other wedding recommedations.

I have the 580EX II and a Gary Fong clear dome

Do I need an external battery pack?

Re: Best canon lens for wedding photography? 24-70mm f2.8

[img]/cfs-file.ashx/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.24.00/Web_5F00_IMG_5F00_7792-copy.jpg[/img]

This was shot with the EF24-70MM F/2.8 L USM on an XTi

This was F/2.8, 1/20, ISO 800, 25MM. I was using a 580EXII asa master and triggering a 430EX low left in slave mode.

I Love the EF24-70 F/2.8 and it is always on one camera at a wedding. I mount my EF70-200MM F/2.8 L IS USM on my 1DMKII for shots from the back of the ceremony. Just make sure you have lots of spares. Something always fails at the most inopportune moment.

If you want a normal to telephoto zoom on your 50D, the 24-70 f/2.8 is the best choice. I've shot a few weddings with the 20D and the 24-70 f/2.8 and it worked great, but I really missed having a wide angle. You can

For a wide-to-normal zoom, though, the 17-55 f/2.8 IS is the cream of the crop. The image quality is a little better than the 24-70 f/2.8 L, but the biggest difference is the field of view and image stabilization. You couldn't ask for a lens with more resolution or contrast. Build quality and focus ring is lacking, though. If you don't need IS, you can get the Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 for less than half the price.

It really depends on your personal style of shooting. Whether you do natural light only, or you incorporate flash (and how you incorporate it).