Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which L series.

Question Which L series.

Im a wedding photographer and Im looking at adding a new prime.

Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM or

Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM Lens

I currently shoot with a 70-200 L series, canon ef 24-70 F2.8L and a canon 17-55 2.8 is on a crop body and a canon 5dmkii
    You can see my stuff at professional wedding photographer

The 50 gives you a wider low light in the ff and a very shallow dof portrait on the crop?
    If you see me with a wrench, call 911

If its any help at all. The 85 1.2 is likely the most sought after portrait lens in the canon lineup. Probably the most coveted as well. I have the 85 1.8 and have used it on crop and full frame and really see the versatility in that focal length. The 50 is normal and can be used I think in a more photojournalistic style.

In my honest opinion you are going to be stoked no matter which one you go with.

Good luck in making a tough choice there.

Dave.

P.S. There is always the idea of just buying both. Go big or go home right?

Does it have to be Canon? Lots of people have been talking up some of the Sigmas even though you lose a stop of light. The other thing to do is possibly go with a manual focus lens from Zeiss. Just throwing some extra thoughts out there.
    Words get in the way of what I meant to say.

Both are excellent, of course. Since you have zooms that cover both focal lengths, check past EXIF or set a zoom to each focal length for a while, and see where the thin DoF would be more useful.

Each lens has one 'issue'. The 50L exhibits focus shift (inherent to the lens design, you'll get backfocus at apertures between f/1.4 and ~f/4 with close subjects). The 85L autofocuses quite slowly (and manual focus is no faster because MF works by driving the AF motor).

Quote Originally Posted by neuroanatomist View Post
    ...and manual focus is no faster because MF works by driving the AF motor).