Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help with selecting light modifiers

Help with selecting light modifiers

I have recently purchased a few speedlites (430EXII and 2 Yongnuo 560II's). I'm relatively new to flash photography and looking at all of the different modifiers available is pretty overwhelming. I like to shoot people, pets, and a little wildlife (probably in that order). I like to shoot both indoor and outdoor. My general approach to buying gear is to get stuff that will last a while. I'd rather pay a little more upfront and avoid the evolutionary process of upgrading later only to end up with the same equipment I could have purchased in the first place. I'd like to know which light modifiers (and size) you feel are more useful that I should purchase first and learn to use (soft box, grid, beauty dish, umbrella, barn doors, etc). Also, what brands and models do you have good experience and results with. I'm always interested in seeing sample photos of your work with said equipment if you are willing to share. Thanks in advance.

Sean's the expert on this, but I use and am pleased with a pair of Lastolite 24" Ezyboxes on Manfrotto 1051BAC light stands.

Shoot first, then ask questions later :-)

Seriously, It would be better start working with you flashes and take as many pictures as you can. Then you will realize what exactly do you need for you purposes. If you don't, you can ask how to achieve an special lightning technique or improve a picture in particular. There are many people in this forum experienced about flash photography that would help you.

In this case, function create the organ. It makes little sense buy an umbrella or something else before knowing if you are going to need it.