Thread: Ultra wide angle lens for trip to Antarctica

Ultra wide angle lens for trip to Antarctica

Hi all,

I hope to gain people’s opinions and perspective on the type of ultra wide lens to take on a trip to Antarctica. I am currently looking at either the Canon 8-15mm f/4 and the 17-40 f/4, which will be mounted on either a 5D Mark II or III as I am currently looking to either of these bodies (haven’t decided yet). My general purpose lens is the 24-105 lens, which is currently running on my 450d.

Does anyone have any advice as I am a keen landscape photographer.

Thanks in advance.

Amit

Antarctica is a trip of a lifetime, so you need to get this right.

The 8-15 and 17-40 are two totally different lenses. If you want an ultra wide angle zoom lens, go with the 17-40mm.

If you specifically want the distorted fisheye effect on all your wide angle shots, go with the 8-15mm. I trust you realise that you will lose the corners of your images when shooting with this lens on a full frame camera at any focal length except 15mm. At 8mm you will get a circular image with a 180º field of view. Whilst it might be interesting to try this on a few shots, I think you will regret being unable to take normal rectilinear photos if the 8-15mm is your only ultrawide lens. Note that you can't use a polarising filter on the 8-15mm lens and it may be difficult to protect the convex front element in the Antarctic weather.

The 8-15mm is ideal when you want to give emphasis to a nearby subject whilst including a lot of background, but if your subject is the landscape itself I think it will be easier to compose a shot in the 17-40mm range, or even longer focal lengths. An iceberg viewed from a ship will become a spec on the horizon at 15mm or wider.

I'll share some statistics from my Antarctic trip in 2009. I took four lenses and here's a breakdown of how often they got used:

17-40 f/4: 7%
    24-105 f/4: 19%
    70-200 f/2.8: 23%
    100-400 f/4.5-5.6: 51%