Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Exposrure compensation

Exposrure compensation

Hi all,

I am a newbie to photography. I have been using my 40d for 6 months now and have a fair amount of knowledge about various techniques. This one thing I could never figure out how to use though? I mostly shoot in manual mode, so i set the aperture ,white balance, shutter and iso. I also know and use the exposure settings on my 580exII flash.

How does the "exposure compensation" on the camera differ from that? How can I use "exposure compensation" to benefit in manual mode?

Cheers! and Thanks in advance,

Dev

Re: Exposrure compensation

Dev,

Expouser comp on the camera affects the amount of light that hits the sensor. Its a way to fine tune expouser in 1/3 stops rather than full stops through a change in shutter speed or arpeture. A positive expouser will let more light in, eg an overexposed pic. This is good for making whites white, blowing out backgrounds, dark/meek weather and lighting shadows.

A negative exposuer does the opposite: under exposes the photo, making blacks black, deeper/richer sunsets ect.

The 40D also has an incamera flash compenstation that works to offset and tweak exposuers with a flash.

Thanks for that info Ehcalum. Still wondering which parameter gets affected or rather is used by the camera to do the exposure compensation? does it use the iso such that it increases/decreases the light hitting the sensor? or shutter and or aperture or something else entirely?

Sorry about the million questions.

Dev

Quote Originally Posted by devsalvi

Still wondering which parameter gets affected or rather is used by the camera to do the exposure compensation? does it use the iso such that it increases/decreases the light hitting the sensor? or shutter and or aperture or something else entirely?
    <div style="clear: both;"]</div>

• M: There is no Exposure Compensation. You control both the shutter and the aperture.