Thread: 70-200f4 LIS USM 70-300 L IS USM

70-200f4 LIS USM 70-300 L IS USM

Hello!
    I read his account for the 70-300 L
    I have a canon 550d and 17-55 f2.8 lens and I'd like a telephoto lens and am considering one of the two
    between 70-200 f4 IS and the 70-300 L
    I am a passionate novice and I'd like your advice
    I wanted to use for my travels
    Could you please explain to me how it goes
    thanks
    Barbara

RE: 70-200f4 LIS USM 70-300 L IS USM

I'm kind of in the same boat. I have the 70-200 f/4. I'm planning to sell this lens and get either The 70-200m f/4 IS version or the 70-300mm f/4-5.6

Right now I'm leaning toward the 70-200mm f/4 IS because it's sharper at 200mm and I don't think I'll get much use at 300mm. Also the difference in weight. The 70-200mm f/4 IS is lighter.
    Sent from my Lumia 900 using Board Express
    Patrick

Both are great lenses. IQ is about the same, the 70-200 is slightly sharper at 200 I believe, but not much.
    The 70-300 might be a little heavier, but not much - doesn't make a difference for me. It is a little shorter when retracted - might be relevant for you or not, depending on the bag you use.
    IS and AF are both very good, not sure if there is a difference at all in real life, even although the 70-300 is a newer design.

It comes down IMO to focal length range vs extending. You may prefer the not-extending 70-200, or the longer focal length range. For me the 300mm focal length was the deciding factor.
    Arnt