Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Firmware Update

  1. #1
    Senior Member iND's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    ST LOUIS
    Posts
    400

    Firmware Update

    I must admit that I have never updated the firmware in any of my canon bodies.
    I never had an issue to resolve.
    With the announcement of the update for the 5DIII, I am rethinking that decision.

    When I review the fixes involved, I do not have any of those issues.
    I only recall when I have update computer software and how unpleasant it can be and in some cases leaving me less functional than prior.

    I really really don't want to mess with my 5DIII.

    So what is the advice from the forum?

    If I do decide what are the steps involved in the process?

    Anyone had a bad firmware update experience?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Kayaker72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    4,230
    I'll be doing this update tonight. I tried to keep current with the updates for my 7D. Never had a problem. But there are at least two things in this update that I think are important to me: 1) center point AF at f/8 and 2) AF speed when using the AF assist beam from a flash.

    I always reread the directions that Canon gives you, but it is pretty straightforward.
    Last edited by Kayaker72; 04-30-2013 at 06:37 PM.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Asker, Norway
    Posts
    79
    Ive done numerous updates on several bodies, on both Windows and Mac, with no issues. Just follow the procedure and you should be OK.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    778

    Re: Firmware Update

    Firmware has usually gone through the paces and I wouldn't worry about issues. Having said that, I didn't update my 7d until I sold it. Seems like the clean hdmi out and f8 focus was the main concern for the 5d3. If you're okay with not having those and taking a chance on the "phenomenon" junk, you could pass. It really isn't hard to update if you wanted to. Copy some files to a flash card and find the firmware number in the menu. Just make sure your battery is charged.
    Words get in the way of what I meant to say.

  5. #5
    Administrator Sean Setters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Savannah, GA
    Posts
    3,342
    Now if you're trying to install Magic Lantern, that can be a little trickier...

    ;-)

  6. #6
    Moderator Steve U's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,942
    Just did it, all good.
    Steve U
    Wine, Food and Photography Student and Connoisseur

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, FL
    Posts
    1,246
    If anyone is using an Eye-Fi card remove it before updating. Scary things will happen.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •