Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 7D vs......get this a 1D mkIII

7D vs......get this a 1D mkIII

I have been a huge fan of the-digital-picture since I got into photography back in late 2010 and this is my first post on the community.

Eventually, I plan to do something professional involving photography and I think over the last 2 or 3 years I have made great strides but being a full time Soldier I can’t give 100% commitment to photography yet and I want to make sure I am at a proper level before I make any moves towards it. When I do return from Afghanistan later this year I do want to start soliciting taking photos to improve my skills and have something to build a future portfolio with. All that being said, I’m getting to asking about an upgrade.

Currently I have a T2i, Sigma 18-125, Tamron 70-300, Canon 35 f/2 and 50 f/1.8II. My wife has given me an upgrade budget of around $1,500 for new toys when I get home and here are my thoughts.

I would love to do a 6D and could manage that with a little sweet talking to the wife (body only) but that leaves me in a small lens dilemma that I would not have a general purpose lens as my 18-125 would not work. I would also need to consider an 85 f/1.4 for a good portrait lens but again still no budget.

My logical plan is a 7D and a Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 (none-VC). I can do refurbished or digitalrev.com on those for my budget easy. This would give me a better walk around lens than the 18-125 (I really don’t like it, it’s very soft) and my 50 f/1.8 on a crop is equal to 80mm for portraits.