Thread: upgrade from 400D

upgrade from 400D

Hello all,

Since I bought a new lens for my 400D I found myself shooting much more, I never realised that the 18-55 lens was so limiting!
    Now, the camera is a tad old. It works well, but I'm mainly disappointed by its performances on low light. I've been thinking of upgrading - either with a 650 or maybe with a 60/70 (I like the focus microadjustment feature, which is only available on the 70D unfortunately) but I am concerned I may not get the quality upgrade I am expecting.
    I have seen many samples and reviews and I am still confused. While I may enjoy all the bells and whistles the new models come with, I am mainly looking for an upgrade in picture quality: I'd like to be able to use ISO higher than 400 in low light conditions without beginning to see red pixels all around the picture!

I don't want to upgrade and then realise that there is not much difference. I am not a pro, just an amateur.

Any suggestions appreciated!
    Thanks
    Tony

Hello!

First, what is your budget? I mean, if you have a limited budget - an APS-C should be a good answer. 60D or 70D both, i think they can handle a better image quality with higher ISO (check pixel-peeper for some pictures at high iso) than the 400D!

My suggestion is a 60D + a good lens.

But, an used 5dMarkII would be a truly improvement of the image quality, but in that case you need to invest also on you lens park!

It depends on "the budget"

Another thing you should consider, is that with a good post-processing you can "remove\handle" a lot of "noise" caused by the high-iso settings, you already know how to do it?

Because if you go in the "detail", on pixel peepeing - pretty each picture is noisy, but maybe at a lower resolution that image is really appreciable!
    Last edited by jamsus; 10-13-2014 at 10:02 AM.
    Dogs and cats, living together! Mass hysteria!

Jamsus

hi Jamsus,