Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 7D II Reviews and Comments from those who now own it

7D II Reviews and Comments from those who now own it

I thought I would start a thread for those who have bought a 7D II to comment about there impressions of the camera.

Mine came today but work came first, I didn't get out till right at Dusk.

My first impression is that it is a very quite camera, but then I compared it to the 1D IV when I got home and they seem close to the same. My impressions of the 1D IV was that it is noisy, but my memory of shutter noise comes from sitting in a deer blind. Noise is magnified.

I mounted the 70-200mm II on and headed over to the local Zoo's lake. Pulling out the driveway there was a small deer herd in the field. They were to far away, it was overcast and sunset was close, there was not enough separation from the trees. Not a good setting for a pic but I have taken so many of these type of bad shots I am an expert at taking bad shots.

It came out better than I expected, on par with what I thought I would see out of the 1D IV.

This is unprocessed out of the camera at f3.2 / 1/320 ISO 2500.

CQ2A0640 by hdnitehawk01, on Flickr

EDIT: Here is another with a little DPP PP
    PP Deer by hdnitehawk01, on Flickr
    Last edited by HDNitehawk; 11-05-2014 at 02:26 AM.

In the previous shot the deer ran off. I was in AI Servo and the tracking was so so, but not the best of conditions.

A few minutes later at the Zoo, sun already set. Direct out of the camera JPG F2.8, 1/80, ISO 1600

CQ2A0658 by hdnitehawk01, on Flickr

If any one is interested in seeing it, I will be doing a side by side vs the 1D IV. Of course it will be a stick and stone hands on comparison done red-neck style. But it will tell me how the two compare.

Any one else with a 7D II lets see some comments.

My Test #1 & Test #2 completed;