Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: One Click Picture Level

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    2,901

    One Click Picture Level

    PP a hunting coyote from Yellowstone and an idea hit me.

    Now that bodies have a level built in, wouldn't it be nice in PP if you could just click on level and it would correct your image for you.
    I have my doubts that the camera's orientation is saved in the file, but it looks like it would be possible.

    Then again, maybe it is available now and I am ignorant of the fact and may learn something.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Kayaker72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    4,164
    Love it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Jonathan Huyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Canmore, Alberta
    Posts
    888
    That makes a ton of sense! I spend a fair bit of time fussing with my photo angles in post. If the camera saved the original shot angle, we could theoretically snap back to level in a single click. You should patent that idea and sell it to Canon

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, ON
    Posts
    1,315
    What, this old thing?


    One Click Level - Lightroom by Dave E, on Flickr

    Yes, it doesn't use the built-in level info (as far as I know), but it wouldn't be much of stretch for Adobe to take advantage of the extra info if it were to making it into the EXIF.
    Last edited by DavidEccleston; 12-01-2015 at 05:10 AM.
    On Flickr - Namethatnobodyelsetook on Flickr | On the web - http://www.GrassStainedPhoto.com
    1DsII | 7D | 7DII | 10-18mm STM | 18-135mm STM | 24-70mm f/4L | Sigma 35mm f/1.4 | 50mm f/1.8 | 85mm f/1.8 | 70-300mm f/4-5.6L

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    415
    Great idea, it would do the job for many images where "OK" level is good enough. For images including obvious horizontal/vertical references (e.g. sea horizon) the accuracy of the in-camera level may not be sufficient. (According to my experience, the level indication of my 7D is within a few tenths, say 0.3. That’s good enough for many shots, but not for shots including sea horizon.)

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    East Central Illinois
    Posts
    850
    I've found that ACR's auto-level function works quite well if the image has strong verticals or a decent horizon.

    That said, I think that NightHawk's idea is excellent. If Canon's EXIF does not record the level variance data, it should. Maybe the Magic Lantern folks could come up with some way to incorporate it.
    Mark - Flickr
    ************************

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •