Thread: 80D vs 7D Mark II

Question 80D vs 7D Mark II

Trying to decide whether i'm going to upgrade my 50D to a 7DII or an 80D.

I have been (really) disappointed with the AF performance of my 50D. As in, blurry image directly under the active AF point in bright light with a fast shutter. Actually sent my body and some L-series glass to Canon and paid a premium for out-of-warranty service, and I'm still not happy. I think I must have gotten a bad copy of the body.

So I'm wanting to say goodbye to the 50D, and was about to pull the trigger on a 7DII, when I see the 80D specs here.

Now I'm stuck. I'm an avid hobbyist, shooting mostly my kids in action and portrait shots, with the occasional landscape photo. DSLR video will be a new thing for me, so I'm not sure whether the flip touchscreen will make a huge difference or not.

I'm most interested in whether the 65-point AF system on the 7DII will be substantially superior to the 45-point system on the 80D. And will the other differences in performance between the two cameras outweigh any advantage in the AF system?

Hoping Bryan will include lots of 80D/7DII comparisons in his forthcoming 80D review. I want to finally get my money's worth out of my 24 L II, 70-200 L IS II and EF-S 17-55 IS.

Quote Originally Posted by bitwise View Post
    I have been (really) disappointed with the AF performance of my 50D. As in, blurry image directly under the active AF point in bright light with a fast shutter. Actually sent my body and some L-series glass to Canon and paid a premium for out-of-warranty service, and I'm still not happy. I think I must have gotten a bad copy of the body.
    Hi Bitwise....if I haven't already, welcome to the forum.

As for your post, let's start with the above statement. Have you AFMA'd your 50D? I would have thought Canon would have done this, but it is the most common source of your complaint. You can test for it fairly easily by one of two methods (likely more):